Who wants to be serious all the time?

Some of my friends have told me:  ‘Sanda, we really like your blog, but do you have to be so earnest all the time?’  So, just for you, my dears, here is an easier read for a change.  I thought I would share with you some of my favourite quotes about culture, change and just getting along with people.

Culture Quotes:

Trust Gandhi to encapsulate in one quote all that my work and my company, The Culture Broker, is about:  ‘I do not want my house to be walled in on all sides  and my windows to be stuffed.  I want the cultures of all the lands to be blown about my house as freely as possible.  But I refuse to be blown off my feet by any.’

Octavio Paz, who was both a writer and a diplomat, also echoes my thoughts very well: ‘What sets the world in motion is the interplay of differences… Life is plurality, death is uniformity.’

Margaret Mead, of course, was an anthropologist, so not surprisingly she wrote: ‘If we are to achieve a richer culture, rich in contrasting values, we must recognize the whole gamut of human potentialities, and so weave a less arbitrary social fabric, one in which each diverse gift will find a fitting place.’

Quotes about Change:

Constant development is the law of life, and a man who always tries to maintain his dogmas in order to appear consistent drives himself into a false position.  (Gandhi again – that man seems to have produced one memorable quote after another)

The pessimist complains about the wind, the optimist expects it to change, the realist adjusts the sails. (W.A. Ward)

Our world has greatly changed; it has become much smaller.  However, our perceptions have not evolved at the same pace; we continue to cling to old national demarcations and the old feelings of ‘us’ and ‘them’. (Dalai Lama)

We are moving toward a global economy.  One way of approaching that is to pull the covers over your head.  Another is to say: It may be more complicated, but that’s the world I’m going to live in, I might as well be good at it. (Phil Condit – ex-CEO of Boeing)

And finally, on a more light-hearted note, here is a quote that seems to be doing the rounds on Flickr and blogs, but no one quite knows where it comes from:  ‘Every time I find the meaning of life, they change it.’

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

